Mailbox Monday (150)

Mailbox Monday button

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event where we share our latest book arrivals. Link up and find new mailboxes to stalk at the Mailbox Monday blog. I’m in Seattle this week- visiting family and friends and making the local bookstores (and record stores in Andrew’s case) very happy.

I don’t know what books I’ve received at home, but here is a sampling of the books I’ve picked up this week:

mailbox monday (150)

First There Was Forever by Juliana Romano – This looks like a good summer contemporary YA read – it’s about love and evolving friendships. It’s supposed to appeal to fans of Jenny Han and Huntley Fitzpatrick and I hope that’s true!

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera – I saw this at University Book Store with their awesome YA Pride Month display (I wish I took a picture!) This book is about a teen boy who is considering getting a memory altering procedure to forget that he’s gay – thinking that life would be easier if he was straight. The reviews make this one sound fantastic.

The Rise & Fall of the Gallivanters by M.J. Beaufrand – I picked up a signed copy of this one. It’s set in 80s Portland and is about music, mystery, and friendship.

The Game of Love & Death by Martha Brockenbrough – I grabbed a signed copy of this from Elliott Bay Book Company. This historical fiction book is set in Seattle so I thought this was a good way to commemorate my trip.

A God in Ruins by Kate Akinson – My sweet SIL gave me this for a late birthday gift. I have the audio already but it’s nice to have a hard copy as well!

Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest by Johanna Basford – I guess I got caught up in the coloring book craze! Should be a good mood-boosting activity.

Review eBooks:

The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett  – San Francisco contemporary YA about a graffiti artist and an anatomy-obsessed artist who meet on a night bus.

First & Then by Emma Mills  – This is described as Pride and Prejudice meets Friday Night Lights – fun!

Young Widows Club by Alexandra Coutts – A seventeen-year-old marries her boyfriend and becomes a widow weeks later.

The Lies about Truth by Courtney C. Stevens – A book about loss, friendship and redemption.

Tonight the Streets are Ours by Leila Sales – I have been eager to read this one so I was happy to see it pop up on Netgalley. It’s about a girl who goes to NYC to track down one of her favorite bloggers, discovering more about herself and the blogger in the process.

A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery – This book is about love and loss, and the lengths you’ll go to protect the feelings of the ones you care about.

What’s new in your mailbox?

Ornament

14 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday (150)

  1. How fun! It looks like you’ve picked up some great books. I bet you have even more goodies waiting for you at home.

    bermudaonion (Kathy) recently posted: Review: Finding Audrey
  2. Whoooooo! SO many lovely looking books!!! I have First There Was Forever sitting on my bookshelf and I can’t help but admire its summer tones from time to time <3 Definitely a cover lust <3

    A Million Miles Away is my most anticipated release for the rest of this year. I need it – like right now!

    Super awesome haul!!!

    EM @ Books and Iced Coffee recently posted: For the Weekend (6)
  3. Rabiah says:

    I’m so excited to read a bunch of these! THE GAME OF LOVE & DEATH looks especially good 😀 Great haul and happy reading!

  4. kay says:

    Seeing these coloring books in your pile made me so happy! I have had an amazing time with mine, even though I turned out to be a very slow colorer (colorist??)
    And what a great selection, too. I’ve spotted a few YA contemporaries that I now have to investigate. Enjoy!

    kay recently posted: Filling the Shelf – 169
  5. I see several books that look so tempting…The Lies About Truth caught my eye. Enjoy! Thanks for visiting my blog, and have a great week.

    Laurel-Rain Snow recently posted: AUTHOR’S HOME PAGE
  6. Wow, your books look awesome! I want to touch that A God in Ruins hardcover – looks so nice!

    Sam Still Reading recently posted: Mailbox Monday 15/6/15
  7. I am thinking of trying adult coloring. It seems popular. I plan to order The Secret Garden with my Father’s Day coupon.

    Pat @ Posting For Now recently posted: Mailbox Monday: June 15, 2015
  8. Vicki says:

    Lots of new to me books and they all look good! I hope you enjoy them!

    Vicki recently posted: Mailbox Monday
  9. Judy B says:

    Isn’t it fun to travel and explore new or at least different bookstores? Do you shop with a list in mind, or do you just peruse until you find a cover and blurb that catch your eye? I sent those coloring books to my youngest granddaughter…she just turned 22.

  10. A lot of good reading ahead.

    mary Ann Langan recently posted: Mailbox Monday
  11. Serena says:

    Happy Reading

    Serena recently posted: Mailbox Monday #327
  12. Very nice mailbox.

    ENJOY your reading week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

    Elizabeth (Silver's Reviews) recently posted: Finding Audrey and A Finding Audrey Coffee Sleeve Giveaway
  13. Mary says:

    A God in Ruins is on my wish list. Looks like you have a lot of great reading ahead of you!

    Mary recently posted: Sunday Post
  14. How great to know you’re coming home to even more books. Happy Mailbox Monday!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)