Twenty Books to Read in August

what to read in august

Happy August! I felt like July was never going to end. But finally here we are in August- time for hotter days, back to school and some pre-fall reads.

Here are Twenty Books to Read in August:

August 4:

Not After Everything by Michelle Levy – From Dial, “a gritty but hopeful love story about two struggling teens- great for fans of The Spectacular NowWillow, and Eleanor and Park.”

Most Likely to Succeed by Jennifer Echols – From Simon Pulse, “in this sexy conclusion to The Superlatives trilogy from Endless Summer author Jennifer Echols, Sawyer and Kaye might just be perfect for each other—if only they could admit it.”

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Michelle Tromly – From Kathy Dawson Books, “a mystery where catching the crook isn’t the only hook, a romance where the leading man is decidedly unromantic, a story about friendship where they aren’t even sure they like each other—Trouble is a Friend of Mine is a YA debut you won’t soon forget.” Look for an Author Q&A feature next week. 

Infinite Home by Kathleen Alcott – From Riverhead Books, “a beautifully wrought story of an ad hoc family and the crisis they must overcome together.” This book follows the lives of the tenants of a Brooklyn brownstone.

The Secrets of Lake Road by Karen Katchur – From Thomas Dunne Books, “a haunting story about the destructive power of secrets, this accomplished and gripping suspenseful women’s fiction debut is perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Heather Gudenkauf”

The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon – From Doubleday, “an atmospheric, gripping, and suspenseful tale that probes the bond between sisters and the peril of keeping secrets.”

What You Left Behind by Jessica Verdi – From Sourcebooks Fire, a teenage boy is raising an infant on his own after cancer claims the mother. Can he find a way to move on?

August 11:

Still Life Las Vegas by James Sie – From St. Martin’s Press,  “a young man who, in the search for clues into the disappearance of his mother twelve years earlier, discovers himself in the process.”

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (almost) by Felicia Day – From Simon & Schuster, “From online entertainment mogul, actress, and “queen of the geeks” Felicia Day, a funny, quirky, and inspiring memoir about her unusual upbringing, her rise to Internet-stardom, and embracing her individuality to find success in Hollywood.” I want to listen to the audio of this one.

Bright Lights, Dark Nights by Stephen Emond – From Roaring Brook Press, “a story about first love, first fights, and finding yourself in a messed up world.With black-and-white illustrations throughout and a heartfelt, humorous voice, Bright Lights, Dark Nights authentically captures just how tough first love can be…and why it’s worth fighting for.”

Reawakened by Colleen Houck – From Delacorte Press, “an epic adventure about two star-crossed teens who must battle mythical forces and ancient curses on a journey with more twists and turns than the Nile itself.”

 

August 18:

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle – From Corgi Children’s, Cara’s family seems to be in danger every year at the end of October- the accident season.

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick– From Dial Books,” a surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door.” I’ve already read this one and loved reading Tim and Alice’s story.

Before We Were Strangers by Renée Carlino – From Atria Books, “a love story about a Craigslist “missed connection” post that gives two people a second chance at love fifteen years after they were separated in New York City.”

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys Stories Selected by April Genevieve Tucholke – From Dial Books, “for fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouanthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror.” This anthology includes stories by Cat Winters, Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Nova Ren Suma, Jay Kristoff and many more. Sounds perfect for Halloween!

August 25:

George by Alex Gino – From Scholastic, this book is about George, a transgender child who dreams of playing Charlotte in the Charlotte’s Web school play.

Another Day by David Levithan – From Knoph Books, “the eagerly anticipated companion to Every Day.” This is my current read!

If You Only Knew by Kristan Higgins – From Harlequin, “Sisterhood in all its drama, hilarity and tears is at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Kristan Higgins’s thoroughly captivating new novel.”

A Window Opens by Elisabeth Egan – From Simon & Schuster, “for fans of I Don’t Know How She Does It and Where’d You Go, Bernadette?” This book is about a book-loving woman who gets a new job at a tech/book company and trying to balance her work/home life. This book sounds fun- kind of like The Knockoff.

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender – From Point, “Asylum meets Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, in this riveting tale of ghosts, secrets, and family.”

What are you looking forward to reading in August? 

Ornament

3 thoughts on “Twenty Books to Read in August

  1. I don’t think it can get any hotter here. I’m really excited about A Window Opens.

    bermudaonion (Kathy) recently posted: Review: Friendshape
  2. Chrystal says:

    I have The Night Sister in my TBR pile this month. Looks so good!

    Chrystal recently posted: August TBR Pile
  3. Good list! I’m excited about Felicia Day’s book, she’s always seemed really interesting.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)