September’s Most Sought-After Books

September is almost here, hopefully bringing some fall-like weather to some of you. (Here we are having the hottest days of the year)  Hooray, the fall reading season is upon us! There’s so many tempting books hitting shelves this month, and went through the new releases list with a fine-toothed comb to find September’s Most Sought-After Books. I won’t be able to read all of these this month obviously, but this guide will help me when I’m drawing a blank on what to read next.

Adult Fiction:

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – This post-apocalyptic book is getting a lot of buzz and sounds very unique. (Sept. 9. Knoph)

The Paying Guests by Sarah Walters – This novel is about “a widow and her daughter who take a young couple into their home in 1920s London,” This would be my first Sarah Walters read. (Sept. 16, Riverhead)

Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle – This book sounds really different – it’s about a character that creates a text-based RPG that is played through the mail. (Sept. 16, Farrar, Straus, Giroux)

Rooms by Lauren Oliver – The first adult novel written by Oliver, and it’s a ghost story. (Sept. 23, Ecco)

How to Build a Girl by Caitlin Moran – This is a semi-autobiographical, humorous coming-of-age novel with feminist themes. I didn’t know if this should be Fiction, YA or Non-Fiction but I’m leaving it in Fiction for now.  (Harper, Sept. 23)

Non-Fiction:

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She’s “Learned” by Lena Dunham – I love a good humorous memoir, and this collection of essays promises to be a good one. (Sept. 30, Random House)

Some Assembly Required: The Not-So Secret Life of a Transgender Teen by Arin Andrews – Andrews underwent gender assignment in high school and documents the experience in this memoir. (Sept. 30, Simon & Schuster)

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes and Other Lessons from the Crematory by Caitlin Doughty – This sounds morbid but fascinating- it’s about a young mortician’s experiences caring for dead bodies. I’m attracted to this one because  “Caitlin argues that our fear of dying warps our culture and society, and she calls for better ways of dealing with death (and our dead).” (Sept. 15, W.W. Norton & Company) 

New Adult:

Make It Right by Megan Erickson (Bowler University #2) – This installment is about Max and Lea. (Sept. 9, William Morrow Impulse)

Shatter by Erin McCarthy (True Believers #4) – The final book in the series! This installment is about Kylie and Jonathon. (Sept. 1, InterMix)

What If by Rebecca Donovan – This is a new book by the author of the Breathing series. This sounds like a mystery/romance about second chances, friendship, and love. (Sept. 16, Grand Central Publishing)

As Long As You Love Me by Ann Aguirre (2B #2) – I just read the first book in this series (I Want it That Way) and now there’s already a new book!  This installment is about Lauren and Rob. (Sept. 30, Harlequin)

 

YA Series: 

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #3) – I’ve been listening to The Assassin’s Blade while I wait for this one. (Sept. 2, Bloomsbury)

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey (The 5th Wave #2)  – I hope I remember what happened in the first book! (Sept. 16, Putnam)

Still Point by Katie Kacvinsky (Awaken trilogy #3) – I’m reading this now and should have a review up next week. (Sept. 2, HMH)

 

YA Standalone:

The Secret Sky: A Novel of Forbidden Love in Afghanistan by Atia Abawi – A story of star-crossed love in Afghanistan. This book hasn’t gotten much attention but it sounds wonderful.  (Sept. 2, Philomel)

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – I’ve mentioned this book a lot and I’m glad it’s finally coming out! I know fans of contemporary YA and of Nelson’s The Sky is Everywhere are excited for this one. (Sept. 16, Dial)

Rabbit Ears by Maggie de Vries – This book hasn’t gotten a lot of attention yet, and it sounds intense. It’s about a multi-racial adopted girl named Kaya and her older sister Beth, and the story is told in alternating pov.  It sounds really dark, gritty and powerful. (Sept. 2, Harper Collins)

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley – I’m reading this one for diversity book club, and the early buzz is very positive! It’s a historical fiction book about race, civil rights, and sexual orientation. (Sept. 30, Harlequin)

100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith – You always get something interesting and unique from Smith! This one is a coming-of-age roadtrip book about friendship and unexpected detours. (Sept. 2, Simon & Schuster)

Words and Their Meanings by Kate Bassett – A death in the family leaves Anna lost for words, and she struggles to put the pieces of her life back together. This book sounds so good! (Sept. 8, Flux)

Wildlife by Fiona Wood – I have the Australian edition of this book, and now it has a new US release. This book is about friendship and romance, and centers around a girl who spends a semester in the wilderness. (Sept. 16, Poppy)

Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson – This is about a girl with an anxiety disorder, who is afraid to touch another person’s skin. This disorder gets in the way of her dreams of becoming an actress. (Sept. 2, Harper Teen)

Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang – Flashbacks help piece together this story about a popular girl’s attempted suicide. (Sept. 9, Greenwillow)

Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer – Wolitzer’s YA debut is a nod to The Bell Jar, and about the power of writing to heal after a tragic event. (Sept. 30, Dutton)

 

Middle Grade:

 Half a World Away by Cynthia Kadohata –  Jaden was adopted at 8 and is conflicted when his parents seek to adopt another child 4 years later. (Sept. 2, Atheneum Books)

Nest by Esther Erlich – Set on Cape Cod in 1972, this book is about friendship, love, and dealing with an ill family member. (Sept. 9, Wendy Lamb)

Fantasy League by Mike Lupica –  I liked QB1 by this author so I’ll be back for another round of MG football, and this one is described as Moneyball for kids. (Sept. 16, Philomel)

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry – This title is a mouthful! This book sounds like a riot and is about “a murderer on the loose—but that doesn’t stop the girls of St. Etheldreda’s from attempting to hide the death of their headmistress in this rollicking farce.” (Sept. 23, Roaring Brook Press)

The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pickney –  This novel-in-verse is about a 12-year-old Sudanese girl who loses almost everything and starts over at a refugee camp. (Sept. 16, Little, Brown)

 

Whew! That’s a lot of books! What are you looking forward to reading in September?

 

Ornament

6 thoughts on “September’s Most Sought-After Books

  1. I can’t wait for Heir of Fire!!! So excited for that!!!

    Also, Jackaby By William Ritter is coming out on September 16!!! I had a wonderful opportunity to read this before its release date and it is soo AWESOME!!! Anyone who’s a fan of Libba Bray’s The Diviners and Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean At the End of the Lane, or anyone looking for something new, should definitely check this book out!!! I think this could appeal to fans of Dr. Who and BBC’s Sherlock as well 😀

    1. Lucy says:

      Ooh thanks for the tip on Jackaby! I’ll definitely keep an eye out for it!

  2. I got Belzhar at BEA. I need to make time to read it. And I also need to read Book 2 The Infinite Sea. NOT enough hours in a day to read all the books I want!

    Laura@Library of Clean Reads recently posted: The Promise by Ann Weisgarber
    1. Lucy says:

      I hear ya! Hope you get to read Belzhar and The Infinite Sea in September 🙂

  3. What a great list! Wouldn’t it be nice if we had the time to read that many books in a month?

    bermudaonion (Kathy) recently posted: Review: Boy 21
  4. Estelle says:

    Ah! I had no idea Andrew’s book is out TODAY. That’s so soon. Going to run and look for it. And The Secret Sky sounds awesome. I can always count on you to recommend something different. THANK YOU and have a great week!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)