Blog Tour: The Ramblers by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Blog Tour: The Ramblers by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Blog Tour: The Ramblers by Aidan Donnelley RowleyThe Ramblers by Aidan Donnelley Rowley
Published by HarperCollins on October 4th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary Women, Literary, Family Life
Pages: 416
Source: Publisher
Goodreads

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City—an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit.

Hello friends & welcome to my stop on The Ramblers blog tour! The Ramblers is Aidan Donnelley Rowley’s (Life After Yes) latest book, and it got a lot of buzz when it hit shelves earlier this year. Now it’s available in paperback with a new shiny cover!

The Ramblers is about three Yale grads in New York City trying to figure out their lives. Clio is an ornithologist (a bird expert) at the Museum of Natural History, Smith is an heiress and aspiring declutter coach, and Tate is a wealthy tech guy/photographer. The three are all in their mid-thirties and dealing with relationship drama and trying to move on from the past. They lead privileged lives but still have doubts and uncertainties about the future. We follow each character on their journey, though Clio’s story gets the most focus.

The New York setting takes center stage in The Ramblers, with vivid descriptions that make you long for a visit. It made me particularly interested in spending time at The Ramble in Central Park.

The Ramblers has a good pace and kept me entertained. It’s witty and absorbing and had me rooting for the trio to find their happy ending.

The book is set during Thanksgiving week, so keep it in mind during your holiday travels if you need a break from your own family dramas.

The Ramblers is now available in paperback. Find it: HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

About the Author:Aidan Donnelley Rowley The Ramblers

Born and raised in New York City, Aidan Donnelley Rowley graduated from Yale University and received her law degree from Columbia University. She is the author of a previous novel, Life After Yes, and the creator of the Happier Hours Literary Salons. She lives in Manhattan with her husband and three daughters.

Connect: Twitter | Facebook |Instagram

Follow along with The Ramblers blog tour:

tlc book tours

 

Ornament

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Ramblers by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

  1. This sounds like something I’d like a lot.

  2. Lori says:

    This sounds really good! I love books set in NYC.

    Lori recently posted: Review: Replica by Lauren Oliver
  3. Ooh I like the suggestion to read this over Thanksgiving – great idea!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)