Baby Doll by Hollie Overton | Twinspiration and Giveaway

baby doll cover crop

Hello friends and welcome to stop two on the Baby Doll blog tour! Baby Doll hits stores today and is perfect for fans of psychological thrillers like Gone Girl and Girl on a Train and abduction stories like Room. Baby Doll is about Lily- a woman held captive for 8 years. She had a baby in a basement prison and now she and her daughter Sky are out and trying to adjust to life on the outside, where her family is almost unrecognizable. Read on to find out more about the book, enjoy a guest post by author Hollie Overton on twinspiration, and enter to win a copy of Baby Doll for yourself.

About the Book:

Baby Doll“What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page.” — Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Die Again  

Escape was just the beginning. 

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.

This is what happens next… to Lily, to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter—and to her captor. 

For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, BABY DOLL is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

Baby Doll is on sale today July 12

Find it: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | Goodreads

Watch the Book Trailer: 

https://www.facebook.com/authorhollieoverton/videos/538924306294661/

Guest Post:

Hollie Overton on being an identical twin and favorite fictional twins

My twin sister, Heather and I are very similar to Lily and Abby, the twins in BABY DOLL. In fact, Heather’s first reaction when she read the book was, “Oh my God, I’m Abby.” What I love about Heather and what found its way into the novel is that she can come across as tough and no-nonsense but deep down she’s this sensitive softie. On the outside, I appear to be much more sensitive but I’ve got this strong inner resolve. That balance is what makes us such a good team. But with BABY DOLL I didn’t just want to explore the good that comes with being a twin. There are a lot of complexities as well.

In fact, I loved writing the fight scenes between Lily and Abby. A friend read them and said, “You can’t possibly be that awful to one another.” But we are. You’ll say things to your twin that you’d never say to anyone else because you know they’ll always forgive you.

Heather and I grew up reading Sweet Valley High, so Elizabeth and Jessica are definitely our favorite fictional twins. I always wanted to be Jessica because she had a lot more fun. Heather and I argued endlessly about who was who. Deep down, I knew that I was Elizabeth and Heather did too, but who wants to admit that they are the more reliable/boring twin? It’s much more fun to be the “bad” twin.

About the Author:

A tense, unique psychological thriller, Baby Doll is a remarkable first novel from TV writer Hollie Overton, who has worked Cold Case, The Client List, and the new Shadowhunters on ABC Family. 

Debut author Hollie Overton was raised by her single mother, and Hollie—an identical twin herself—draws on her unique childhood experiences for her first novel, Baby Doll. Overton’s father was a member of the notorious Overton gang in Austin, Texas, and spent several years in prison for manslaughter. Hollie is a television writer and resides in Los Angeles.

Visit Hollie: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Author photo credit: Heather Overton

Baby Doll Blog Tour

Follow the tour to get exclusive behind the scenes scoop and more chances to win Baby Doll:

 Monday (July 11) Hollie Overton stops by NovelNovice.com to introduce Baby Doll and share the personal experiences that inspired the book. 

Tuesday (July 12) Hollie Overton guest posts on TheReadingDate.com to talk about being an identical twin herself, and who her favorite fictional twins are. (You’re here!)

 Wednesday (July 13) BookingMama.net shares a Q&A with Hollie Overton, and divulges on her writing process, book #2, and what are her current reading recommendations.

 Thursday (July 14) Hollie Overton – a TV writer for shows such as Cold Case, The Client List, and Shadowhunters – stops by Chapter-by-Chapter.com to talk about the difference between writing a novel and writing for the screen, and how her TV experience helped her draft a suspenseful and multi-perspective thriller.

 Friday (July 15) Read an exclusive excerpt from Baby Doll on OnceUponaTwilight.com.

Giveaway

Baby Doll

One lucky winner will receive a copy of Baby Doll!

Giveaway is open to US entrants age 18 and up, courtesy of Redhook. Fill out the Rafflecopter to enter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Ornament

12 thoughts on “Baby Doll by Hollie Overton | Twinspiration and Giveaway

  1. It sounds like the author got a lot of inspiration for her characters at home I bet this book is good.

  2. Carol M says:

    I loved What The Dead Know by Laura Lippman! I know I would enjoy this, too! Thank you for the giveaway!

  3. Jennifer C says:

    I am a huge fan of Mary Kubica and Laura McNeill’s books! They are some of my favorite thrillers.

  4. Caryn S says:

    I just finished the thriller Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris which was wonderfully intense

  5. Caryn S says:

    I just finished Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris which was wonderfully intense

  6. Anne says:

    Thanks for this review and giveaway. Moving Day by Jonathan Stone was a great thriller.

  7. Sandy says:

    I have been reading a lot about this novel and can’t wait to read it. I think My Girl which I just finished reading and The Lie were both fantastic thrilling novels.

  8. Kristy Petree says:

    I have a few: all of Gillian Flynn’s novels, Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson, and Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris. Thanks for the chance!

  9. Edye says:

    The book sounds awesome! Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

  10. Sheree says:

    Sounds great!

  11. Priscilla S. says:

    I loved The Good Girl by Mary Kubica.

  12. Letty Blanchard says:

    Big fan of Mary Kubica’s books. Baby Doll soundsnlikenonenthat will keep me reading all night. Very interested in reading it!!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)