Blog Tour: The One That Got Away by Bethany Chase

The One That Got Away banner

I’m excited to be the next stop on The One That Got Away blog tour! Isn’t that book cover gorgeous, and do you hear Katy Perry’s song when you see this title like I do? This adult romance is about the guy that slipped through your fingers- what happens when he comes back into your life? But what if you’ve already moved on with someone else? Bethany Chase’s debut is set in Austin, Texas and has a lot of personality and crossover appeal. This is a fun one to take on your Spring break adventures. You won’t want to let this one get away! (Haha I couldn’t resist)

Read on to find out more about the book, what I thought of The One That Got Away, and how you can enter to win a copy of the book for yourself!

THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY BY BETHANY CHASE

Ballantine Books | On Sale March 31

the one that got awayPerfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, this bright, funny debut from a fresh voice in fiction offers a delicious take on love, family, and what it means to build a home of one’s own.

Sarina Mahler thinks she has her life all nailed down: a growing architecture practice in Austin, Texas, and an any-day-now proposal from her loving boyfriend, Noah. She’s well on her way to having the family she’s hoped for since her mother’s death ten years ago. But with Noah on a temporary assignment abroad and retired Olympic swimmer—and former flame—Eamon Roy back in town asking her to renovate his new fixer-upper, Sarina’s life takes an unexpected turn. Eamon proves to be Sarina’s dream client, someone who instinctively trusts every one of her choices—and Sarina is reminded of all the reasons she was first drawn to him back in the day. Suddenly her carefully planned future with Noah seems a little less than perfect. And when tragedy strikes, Sarina is left reeling. With her world completely upended, she is forced to question what she truly wants in life—and in love.

Full of both humor and heartbreak, The One That Got Away is the story of one woman’s discovery that, sometimes, life is what happens when you leave the blueprints behind.

The One That Got Away is on sale now: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | IndieBound

Trade Paperback 352 pages | ebook

Check out the official book page for discussion questions, an excerpt, the blog tour schedule and more!

The One That Got Away is about Sarina, a young up-and-coming architect. She’s booked some great gigs lately and her business is taking off. Plus, her love life is not too shabby either. Sarina has a loving boyfriend in Noah- the only problem is that he is working Buenos Aires for a year. And guess who reenters her life at this very opportune time…the guy who broke her heart years ago.

Eamon (AYman, Ame for short) is a recently retired Olympic swimmer who is looking to put down roots in Austin. He admires Sarina’s work as an architect (they have a friend in common) and hires her to build his dream house.

Sarina and Eamon had a brief fling years ago and Sarina felt a connection between them, though she never heard from him again. Now she’s off the market but cracks are starting to show in her relationship with Noah. She still has amazing chemistry with Eamon but has her doubts considering their history. A sticky situation to be in for sure.

In addition to this love triangle, Sarina is dealing with the loss of her mother and another ill family member. She wants to move forward with her life in Austin but has to heal old wounds as well.

This is a turning point for Sarina as she’s figuring out how to run her architect business and what she wants out of life and in a partner. Eamon opens her eyes to different possibilities that give her pause about her path with Noah.

Sarina walks a fine line regarding showing her feelings for Eamon. I’d call it more of an emotional affair than a physical one, and I have to say I was Team Eamon and eager for Sarina to make the right choice already.

The One That Got Away is a breath of fresh air; a witty and romantic escape read. I especially loved the career focus of the book, the colorful cast of characters, and the setting.

I was happy to read that there is going to be a sequel featuring another couple, and I look forward to catching up with this crowd again. Maybe all the book titles can be Katy Perry songs- works for me.

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

A native of Virginia’s Shenandoah Valley, Bethany Chase headed to Williams College for an English degree and somehow came out the other side an interior designer. When she’s not writing or designing, you can usually find her in a karaoke bar. She lives with her lovely husband and occasionally psychotic cat in Brooklyn, three flights up. This is her first novel.

Connect with Bethany: Instagram | TwitterPinterest

Ornament

6 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The One That Got Away by Bethany Chase

  1. This sounds so cute! Thanks for the giveaway!

    bermudaonion (Kathy) recently posted: Wondrous Words Wednesday
  2. This sounds like great vacation reading! If only I were going somewhere…

    sherri ashburner recently posted: FRESH-OUT SHOUT OUT for March 31, 2015
  3. Bethany Chase says:

    Thank you so much for hosting me here, Lucy! I’m so thriled you enjoyed the book!

  4. Thank you so much for hosting me here, Lucy! I’m so thrilled you enjoyed the book.

  5. I loved this book, but I didn’t even think of the Katy Perry song until now. And obviously now that’s all I will see/hear! 🙂 I loved the career focus of this book, too. And the setting and all of the secondary characters. I’m excited for the sequel, too!

    Maggie @ Just a Couple More Pages recently posted: Book Review: Where Sea Meets Sky
  6. […] The One That Got Away by Bethany Chase – On sale now. This read is about the guy that slipped through your fingers – what happens when he makes a reappearance, though you’re linked to someone else? This is a witty and romantic escapist read. (More thoughts about the book) […]

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)